Cameroon’s coach Paul Le Guen has named his final 23-man squad for the World Cup after dropping six players from the 29 who have been camping in Austria since 20 May.

Goalkeeper Amour Patrick Tingyemb (Bloemfontein Celtic), defender Makadji Boukar (Al Naddha), local based players Abouna Ndzana (Astres Douala), Patrick  Mevoungou(Canon Yaounde), striker Dorge Kouemaha (Club Bruges, Belgium), midfieder Marcel Ndjeng (Augusburg, Germany) have been dropped.

The squad includes 17 players who were in Angola last January for the Africa Cup of Nations. The newcomers are Vincent  Aboubakar who plays for Cotonsport Garoua in Cameroon’s elite league; Joel Matip (Shalke O4, Germany) who missed the AFCON for administrative reasons, Benoit Assou-Ekotto (Tottenham, England) and his club teammate Sebastien Bassong.

Le Guen also named Maxim Choupo-Moting (Nuremberg, Germany) and Gaetan Bong (Valencienne, France) although FIFA is yet to decide if the players, who have represented Germany and  France at  youth levels, can compete for Cameroon at senior level.

“I think I have selected the best 23 players to defend Cameroon at the World Cup,” Le Guen said on state run radio -CRTV.

He has, however, kept Marcel Ndjeng  as a 24th man until the final preparatory game against Serbia on 5 May in Belgrade. He would replace any player who drops from the squad due to injury or administrative problems.

“I asked Marcel Ndjeng to stay with us right through to Belgrade and I have told Dorge Kouemaha to be ready in case there is need,” he added.

A member of the Cameroon delegation in Austria told Gef’s Football Club that Le Guen was keen on taking Aboubakar who could be a surprise package.

Veterans Rigobert Song and Geremi Njitap as well as Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan, Italy) who threatened to miss the World Cup in anger over statements by 1990 hero Roger Milla are part of this pride of Indomitable Lions.

Here is the complete squad:

Goalkeepers: Guy Roland N’Dy Assembe (Valenciennes), Idriss Carlos Kameni (Espanyol), Hamidou Souleymanou (Kayserispor).

Defenders: Benoit Assou Ekotto (Tottenham Hotspur), Sebastien Bassong (Tottenham Hotspur), Gaetan Bong (Valenciennes), Aurelien Chedjou (Lille), Geremi (Ankaragucu),  Nicolas Nkoulou (Monaco), Rigobert Song (Trabzonspor), Stephane Mbia (Marseille, France),

Midfielders: Enoh Eyong (Ajax Amsterdam), Jean Makoun (Olympique Lyon), Georges Mandjeck (Kaiserslautern), Joel Matip (Schalke 04), Landry Nguemo (Celtic), Alexandre Song (Arsenal)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Coton Sport), Eric Choupo-Moting (Nuremburg), Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan), Mohamadou Idrissou (Freiburg),  Achille Webo (Real Mallorca), Achille Emana (Real Betis).

The team which has been camping in Austria will now travel to Portugal where they will face the Portuguese national side in a friendly on 1 June. They drew 1-1 with Slovakia in their final test match on Austrian soil. Ajax Amsterdam’s Eyong Enoh Tarkang scored for the Indomitable Lions in the 85th minute of play.