Poland has published a list of 22 Cameroon players (yet to be announced by the Cameroon Football Federation (Fecafoot)) to face the Polish national team in a friendly on 11 August 2010. At least 8 players who defended Cameroon’s colours at the World Cup in South Africa are not in the squad available on the Polish Federation’s website.

Le Guen's first Cameroon squad 12 Aug 2009

It is unclear who named the team. Cameroon is without a head-coach since Paul Le Guen resigned from the position after a dismal performance at the World Cup.

Rumour relayed by local media suggests that Jacques Songo’o, who was the goalkeeping trainer under Le Guen, picked the players for this game pending the appointment of a new coaching staff.
The same sources claim Songo’o was given a “helping hand” by officials who wanted to drop a “clique” of players accused of stirring trouble that led to the team’s early exit from the tournament in South Africa.
According to media reports, Songo’o had declined to “sanction” these players on the grounds that he is not the team’s manager.
However,  Alexander Song, Achille Emana, Idriss Carlos Kameni and Rigobert Song (who retired from international football this Sunday) considered as the trouble-makers  are not on the list. It suggests a possible involment of Fecafoot and Ministry of Sport in the selection process.
Geremi Njitap, Souleymanou Hamidou, Idrissou Mohammadou, and Achille Webo who featured in all three games at the World Cup have also been left out.
The list  includes goalkeeper Patrick Tingyemb, midfielder Marcel Ndjeng  and striker Jacques Zoua who were part of Le Guen’s preliminary squad for the World Cup but did not make the final cut.  Defenders: André Stephan Bikey, Gilles Binya and Henri Bedimo and attacker Paul Alo’o Efoulou who were  at the Africa Cup of Nations have also been recalled.
Henri Tsama who plays for Swiss club, Young Boys Bernes, will be  the only new player in the camp, should Fecafoot confirm this squad.
The hide an seek game around who selected the players, the cloud surrounding the appointment of a new head-coach and the stories about officials who cashed-in (or did not take) more than their deserved mission allowances during the World Cup means Cameroon has still not learned that dis-organisation, mis-management, in-fighting, cheating and lack of vision does not pay.
The failure at the World Cup should have been an opportunity for a fresh start; but it seems the cliché that old habits die hard still has its place in Cameroon football.
Here is the full list as published on the website of the Polish Football Federation:

Bramkarze (Goalkeepers)

Guy Roland N’dy Assembe (FC Nantes)
Patrick Tignyemb (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Obrońcy (Defenders)

Stéphane Bikey (Burnley FC), Augustin Gilles Binya (Neuchatel Xamax), Henri Bedimo (RC Lens), Sébastien Bassong (Tottenham Hotspur), Nicolas Nkoulou (AS Monaco), Benoit Assou Ekotto (Tottenham Hotspur), Aurélien Chedjou (Lille OSC)
Gaetan Bong (Valenciennes)

Środkowi (Midfielders)

Stéphane Mbia (Olympique Marsylia), Marcel Ndjeng (FC Augsburg), Jean II Makoun (Olympique Lyon), Georges Mandjeck (Stade Rennais), Joel Matip (FC Shalke 04), Enoh Eyong (Ajax Amsterdam)

Napastnicy (Attackers)

Henri Ntsama (BSC Young Boys Bern), Eric Choupo-Moting (Hamburger SV), Vincent Aboubakar (Valenciennes), Paul Alo’o Efoulou (AS Nancy), Jacques Zoua (FC Basel), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Inter Milan