Cameroon’s national soccer team captain Samuel Eto’o has not been selected for the country’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) 2015 qualifiers against the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Côte d’Ivoire next month.

Eto’o is among 13 players who have not been called up after Cameroon’s disastrous 2014 World Cup showing in Brazil where the team lost all three group games and finished 32nd out of 32 teams.

Goalkeeper Charles Itandje, the left back Benoit Assou-Ekotto who head butted a team-mate during the team’s 4-0 defeat to Croatia, striker Achilles Webo and veteran midfielder Jean Makoun were also not included in the list of 25 players called to camp by head coach Volker Finke. Alexander Song who is serving a three match ban for striking and opponent in the back during the game against Croatia is also absent.

Finke’s list includes several young players, some of whom have not played any first team football with their European clubs. The youngsters include forward Jean Marie Dongou, defender Frank Bagnack and goalkeeper who play for FC Barcelona’s B team.

The German-born trainer has recalled goalkeeper Ndy Assembe (Nancy, France), left back Gaetan Mbong (Olympiakos, Greece), and midfielder Cedric Loe who were left out of the World Cup squad. There’s no space for Guy Armel Kana-Biyick who announced his international retirement after he was not picked for the Brazil expedition.

Here’s the full list as published on the website of the Cameroon Football Federation (Fecafoot).



ABOGO, Pierre Sylvain (Tonnerre Yaoundé)

ONDOUA, Joseph Fabrice (FC Barcelona)


DJEUGOU, Cédric (Cotons Sport de Garoua)

GUIHOTA, Jérôme (FC Valenciennes, France)

MATIP, Joël (Schalke 04, Germany)

NKOULOU, Nicolas (Olympique Marseille, France)

BONG, Gaëtan (Olympiakos, Greece)

BAGNACK, Frank (FC Barcelona, Spain)

OYONGO BITOLO, Ambroise (New York Red Bulls, USA)



MBIA, Stéphane –

LOE, Raoul Cédric (C.A Osasuna, Spain)

SALLI, Edgar (A.S Monaco, France)

ZOCK, Guy Christian (Cosmo de Bafia)

MANDJECK, Georges (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey)

KIBONG à MBAMBA, Marc (Konyarspor, Turkey)

CHOUPO-MOTING, Eric (Schalke 04, Germany)

NGUEMO, Landry –

MOUKANDJO, Benjamin (Stade Reims, France)

ABOUBAKAR, Vincent (FC Lorient/Porto)

DONGOU, Jean Marie (FC Barcelona, Spain)

KWEUKE, Léonard (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)

N’JIE, Clinton (Olympique Lyonnais, France)

ETOUNDI, Franck (FC Zurich, Switzerland)

Stand-by List

KOM, Franck (Etoile Sportive du Sahel)

MOUGANG MBASSOGO (Lion Blessé de Foutouni)

BANA MOUSSA (Coton Sport de Garoua)


NLATE EKONGOLO, Brice (Olympique Marseille)